Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators

AMTE
c/o Meredith College
3800 Hillsborough Street
Raleigh NC 27607

919-760-8240
www.amte.net

Established in 1992, the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators is a professional organization of teacher educators in Schools and Colleges of Education and Departments of Mathematics as well as others interested in mathematics teacher education. The mission of AMTE is to promote the improvement of mathematics teacher education, K-12.

The goals of AMTE are to promote

  • Effective mathematics teacher education programs and practices
  • Communication and collaboration among those involved in mathematics teacher education
  • Research and other scholarly endeavors related to mathematics teacher education
  • Professional growth of mathematics teacher educators
  • Effective policies and practices related to mathematics teacher education at all levels
  • Equitable practices in mathematics teacher education, including increasing the diversity of mathematics teachers and teacher educators.

Activities for the membership include an annual conference, publication of a newsletter three times a year, a meeting held during the annual meeting of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, and a listserv which serves to encourage the exchange of ideas among members on issues in mathematics teacher education.

Executive Director
Tim Hendrix
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Meredith College
3800 Hillsborough Street
Raleigh NC 27607
919-760-8240
hendrixt@meredith.edu

President
Randolph Philipp
School of Teacher Education
San Diego State University
San Diego CA 92182
619-594-1371
RPhilipp@mail.sdsu.edu
Term: Feb 2017 – Jan 2019

Past President
Christine Thomas
College of Education
Georgia State University
Atlanta GA 30302
404-413-8065
cthomas11@gsu.edu

Secretary
Sandra Cooper
Department of Curriculum & Instruction
Baylor University
Marrs McLean Science 229
One Bear Place #97314
Waco, TX 76798
254-710-3246
Sandra_Cooper@baylor.edu

Treasurer
Anita Wager
Dept of Curriculum and Instruction
University of Wisconsin
Madison WI 53706-1707
608/263-5142
awager@wisc.edu

Newsletter Editor
Babette Benken
Department of Mathematics & Statistics
California State Univ, Long Beach
Long Beach, CA 90840
562-985-4798
Babette.benken@csulb.edu