Current Conference Series Events (2017)

2017 NSF-CBMS Regional Research Conferences in the Mathematical Sciences

The National Science Foundation has announced support for seven NSF-CBMS Regional Research Conferences to be held during 2017. These seven will bring to 365 the total number of such conferences since the NSF-CBMS Regional Research Conference Series began in 1969.

List of Current Conferences

These conferences are intended to stimulate interest and activity in mathematical research. Each five day conference features a distinguished lecturer who delivers ten lectures on a topic of important current research in one sharply focused area of the mathematical sciences.

The lecturer subsequently prepares an expository monograph based upon these lectures, which is normally published as a part of a regional conference series.

Depending upon the conference topic, the monograph is published by the American Mathematical Society, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, or jointly by the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.

Support for about 30 participants is provided and the conference organizer invites both established researchers and interested newcomers, including postdoctoral fellows and graduate students, to attend. Information about an individual conference may be obtained by contacting the conference organizer.

2017 Conferences

Sparse Approximation and Signal Recovery Algorithms

Anna C. Gilbert, lecturer
May 22-26 at New Mexico State University
Joseph D. Lakey, Jameson Cahill, and Nicholas Michalowski, organizers
505-646-3901, jlakey@nmsu.edu
575-646-1223, jamesonc@nmsu.edu
575-646-1970. nmichalo@nmsu.edu
www.math.nmsu.edu/activities/cbms2017/cbms2017.html

Nonlocal Dynamics – Theory, Computation and Applications

Qiang Du, lecturer
June 4-9 at the Illinois Institute of Technology
Jinqaio Duan and Xiaofan Li, organizers
312-567-5335, duan@iit.edu
312-567-5340, lix@iit.edu
math.iit.edu/nonlocaldynamics.html

Topological Data Analysis: Theory and Applications

Vin de Silva, lecturer
June 12-17 at Macalester College
Lori B. Ziegelmeier, Matthew Richey, and Matthew L. Wright, organizers
651-696-6000, lziegel1@macalester.edu
507-786-3418, richeym@stolaf.edu
507-786-3410, wright5@stolaf.edu
pages.stolaf.edu/tda-conference/

Tensors and Their Uses in Approximation Theory, Quantum Information Theory, and Geometry

JM Landsberg, lecturer
July 24-28 at Auburn University
Luke Oeding, organizer
510-982-9754, tensors@auburn.edu
www.auburn.edu/~lao0004/cbms.html

Topological and Geometric Methods in Quantum Field Theory

Dan Freed, lecturer
July 31-Aug 4 at Montana State University
David Ayala and Ryan E. Grady, organizers
319-541-5866, ryan.grady1@montana.edu
www.math.montana.edu/cbms/

Bayesian Modeling for Spatial and Spatio-temporal Data

Alan E. Gelfand, lecturer
August 14-18 at the University of California, Santa Cruz
Athanasios Kottas, Rajarshi Guhaniyogi, and Bruno Sanso, organizers
831-459-5536, thanos@soe.ucsc.edu
831-459-5797, rguhaniy@ucsc.edu
831-459-1484, bruno@soe.ucsc.edu
cbms.soe.ucsc.edu/home

Dyson-Schwinger Equations, Topological Expansions and Random Matrices

Alice Guionnet, lecturer
August 28-September 1 at Columbia University
Ivan Corwin and Yi Sun, organizers
845-489-6573, ivan.corwin@gmail.com
yisun@math.columbia.edu
www.math.columbia.edu/department/probability/seminar/guionnet.html