Association for Women in Mathematics

Association for Women in Mathematics
PO Box 40876
Providence RIĀ  02940

401-455-4042
awm-math.org

The Association for Women in Mathematics was founded in 1971 at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Atlantic City. The purpose of the association is to encourage women to study and to have active careers in the mathematical sciences, and to promote equal opportunity and equal treatment of women in the mathematical community.
Initially, AWM operated as a grass roots movement with local meetings all over the country. It now has grown to a membership of more than 3,500 which includes both women and men from the United Stated and around the world, representing a broad spectrum of the mathematical community.

AWM’s efforts have led to greater participation of women in the mathematical community particularly as guest speakers at mathematical meetings and as members of committees in all the associated societies.

AWM publishes the AWM Newsletter six times a year. In addition, AWM sponsors a variety of activities which include organizing panels and workshops, offering travel grants for women, supporting Sonia Kovalevsky High School Mathematics Days, honoring women mathematicians with two annual awards for excellence in undergraduate mathematics and mathematics education, and other activities aimed at promoting the right of women to pursue studies and careers in mathematics.

Executive Director
Karoline Pershell
Service Robotics & Technologies
Washington, DC
karoline@awm-math.org

Managing Director
Steven Ferrucci
201 Charles Street
Providence, RI 02904
401-455-4042
steven@awm-math.org

President
Ami Radunskaya
Mathematics Department
Pomona College
Claremont, CA 91711
909-621-871
aradunskaya@pomona.edu
Term: Feb 1, 2017 – Jan 31, 2019

Clerk
Janet Beery
Math and Computer Science
University of Redlands
Redlands CA 92373
909-748-8620
janet_beery@redlands.edu

Treasurer
Ellen Kirkman
Department of Mathematics
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem NC 27109-7388
336-758-5351
kirkman@wfu.edu

Media Coordinator
Joanna Wares
Department of Mathematics
University of Richmond
Richmond, VA 23173
804-287-6564
jwares@richmond.edu

AWM Newsletter
Anne Leggett, Editor
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Loyola University at Chicago
Chicago IL 60626
leggett@member.ams.org