About CBMS

Conference Board of the Mathematical Sciences
Macalester College
1600 Grand Avenue
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55105

The Conference Board of the Mathematical Sciences (CBMS) is an umbrella organization consisting of seventeen professional societies all of which have as one of their primary objectives the increase or diffusion of knowledge in one or more of the mathematical sciences. Its purpose is to promote understanding and cooperation among these national organizations so that they work together and support each other in their efforts to promote research, improve education, and expand the uses of mathematics.

Formally incorporated in the nation’s capital in 1960, CBMS traces its roots back to a War Policy Committee formed in 1942 by the American Mathematical Society and the Mathematical Association of America and its post-war successor, the Policy Committee for Mathematics which included six mathematics organizations. This committee became the Conference Organization of the Mathematical Sciences in 1958, and finally incorporated as CBMS in 1960 with seven member societies, growing over the years to include its present seventeen members.

To foster the purpose of CBMS, the CBMS officers and the presidents of its seventeen member organizations convene twice annually as the CBMS Council at meetings in the Washington DC area. It is the policy of the CBMS Council to engage primarily in the following types of activities.

  • To provide a forum for the discussion of issues of broad concern to the mathematical sciences community.
  • To provide a focus for cooperative actions and for mutual support among the member societies.
  • To organize and nucleate new functions for the mathematical sciences community.
  • To serve as an organization to which government, industry, other disciplines, and private foundations can turn for leadership and participation by the mathematical sciences and, in the spirit described here, for advice and counsel.
  • To serve as a point of representation for the mathematical sciences to government agencies, other professional societies, and private foundations.

In carrying out these activities, the CBMS Council seeks to minimize its engagement in the long-term management of projects. Rather, long-term activities started by CBMS are normally continued and managed by one or more of its member societies, usually under the auspices of CBMS even though not administered by CBMS.

CBMS Constitution

CBMS Bylaws


Director: David Bressoud bressoud@macalester.edu

Administrative Coordinator: Kelly Chapman kchapma1@macalester.edu


Chair: William (Brit) Kirwan britkirwan@icloud.com

Chair-Elect: Diane Briars djbmath@comcast.net

Secretary-Treasurer: Charles Steinhorn steinhorn@vassar.edu

Member-at-Large: John Staley jstaley@bcps.org

Member-at-Large: Christine Thomas cthomas11@gsu.edu

Council Members